General Information

Government: Parliamentarian Democracy

Establishment: 15 November 1983

TRNC President: Ersin Tatar

TRNC Speaker of Assembly: Zorlu Töre

TRNC Prime Minister: Faiz Sucuoğlu

Capital: Nicosia

Neighbouring Countries: Turkey, Syria, Lebanon, Israel, Egypt and South Cyprus.

Area: 3,242km2

Population: 286,257 (de jure population in 2011)

Religion: 99 % Muslim, 1% others

International call code: +90 392

Traffic: Traffic flows in the left lane

Climate: The climate is a typical Mediterranean climate. Summers are hot and dry, while winters are warm and rainy.

Official Language: Turkish.

Currency: Turkish Lira (₺).

Emergency Numbers:

Police: 155

First Aid/Ambulance: 112

Fire: 199

Forest Fire: 177

Civil Defence: 101