President Akıncı: “ There is a progress but we still have a long way”

Making a statement to press at the end of leaders’ meeting held in the buffer zone yesterday, President Mustafa Akıncı said that progress was achieved and the present stage was better than before but added that the road ahead is still long. Akıncı pointed out that he wishes the negotiations to continue in a positive way adding “ Our greatest wish is to reach a good result”.

Akıncı also shared the names who will be the Turkish Cypriot members of the joint culture and art committee. The TC members are: “Yaşar Ersoy, Zehra Şonya, Kani Kanol, Ruzen Atakan, Ümit İnatçı, Musa Kayra, Emin Çizenel, Mehmet Kansu, Yıltan Taşçı”.

President Akıncı also stated that committee members will come together with Greek Cypriot committee members as soon as possible and they will carry out the necessary works to contribute to the solution process.